Board of Directors

Robin Schmitz  (2016-2018)
Virginia Veterinary Medical Association
VASART Executive Director
3801 Westerre Parkway, Suite D
Henrico, VA 23233
T:  804-346-2611
F:  804-346-2655
Email: VirginiaSART@aol.com

Tony Banks – Chair (2017-2019)
Virginia Farm Bureau Federation
P. O. Box 27552
Richmond, VA 23261
T:  804-290-1114
Email: tony.banks@vafb.com

Ricky Warren (2015-2017)
Virginia Animal Control Association
Middlesex County, Animal Control Officer
Email: Ricky@co.middlesex.va.us

Dr. Julia Murphy (2016-2018)
Virginia Department of Health
Office of Epidemiology
109 Governor St.
Richmond, VA 23218
T;  804-864-8113
F:  804-864-8131
Email: julia.Murphy@vdh.virginia.gov

Samuel Tate, DVM (2016-2018)
Virginia Veterinary Medical Association
VASART Secretary
127 Seekright Drive
Yorktown, VA 23693
T:  757-865-7187
Cell:  757-291-2093
Email: state6@cox.net

Dawn Brantley (2015-2017)
Virginia Dept. of Emergency Management
Shelter Coordinator
10501 Trade Court
North Chesterfield, VA 23236
T: 804-897-6500
dawn.brantley@vdem.virginia.gov

Judi Lynch, Ph.D. (2015-2017)
c/o Delegate L. Nick Rush
P. O. Box 1591
Christiansburg, VA 24068
T: 540-382-7731
jlynch@house.virginia.gov

Carter Hounsel, DVM (2017-2019)
U.S. Department of Agriculture
Federal Building, Suite 726
400 North 8th Street
Richmond, VA 23219
T: 804-343-2572
F: 804-343-2599
Email: Carter.C.Hounsel@aphis.usda.gov

Charles Broaddus, DVM (2016-2018)
Virginia Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services
1100 Bank Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Email: charles.broaddus@vdacs.virginia.gov

Watson Lawrence (2015-2017)
Chesapeake Cooperative Extension Service
Virginia Cooperative Extension
310 Shea Drive
Chesapeake, VA  23322-5597
T:  757-382-6348
Email: malawre3@vt.edu

Gretchen Hedges, LVT
Virginia Association of Licensed
Veterinary Technicians
7044 Lee Park Road
Mechanicsville, VA 23111
Email: gnhedges214@gmail.com

Jen Averill  (2016-2018)
Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
Virginia Tech
205 Duckpond Dr., Room 123
Blacksburg, VA  24061
T: 540-231-8389
Email: cvmsafety@vt.edu

Dr. Jeff Wilson (2016-2018)
Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA  24061
T: 540-231-7666
Email: cjeffdw1@vt.edu

Vacant (2016-2018)
Virginia Federation of Humane Societies

JoAnna Fortin(2016-2018)
Animal Welfare League of Alexandria
4101 Eisenhower Ave.
Alexandria, VA 22304
T: (703) 746-5508
Email: jfortin@alexandriaanimals.org

Donnie Embrey (Ex-Officio)
VASART Statewide Training Coordinator Team
Leader, Louisa CART
T: 540-223-1196
Email: dnrembrey@gmail.com